Calling all Musicians!


As part of Algoma University’s 2014 Homecoming celebrations, Algoma University will be hosting an Acoustic Open Mic Night on Friday, October 17th from 9:30pm – 12:00 midnight at the Speak Easy with a chance to win great cash prizes.

Both the Algoma University Alumni Council and the Algoma University Students’ Union (AUSU) encourage all community musicians to attend and perform at the Acoustic Open Mic Night for a chance to win one of three top prizes. The third place finisher will be awarded $200; the second place runner-up will be given $300; and the first-place grand prize winner will receive $500. Prize winners must be present to receive their cash award.

Each performer will be given a timed 10-minute set. All performances must be done in an acoustic arrangement. No technology-assisted equipment allowed (including laptops, mobile devices, tablets, etc.). Please come early to be guaranteed a performance time slot as last year’s event filled up fast. Time slots for performances will be drawn at random throughout the course of the evening. Performances will be judged by three Sault Ste. Marie musicians and community members.

“There is a wide variety of fantastic events being hosted at Algoma University as part of this year’s Homecoming celebrations,” said Paul Skeggs, Chair of the Homecoming Committee. “With the help of the Algoma University Students’ Union, we’re hosting an Acoustic Open Mic Night to showcase the talent that exists at the University and within the Sault community. It’s a great opportunity for individuals to showcase their talent, win some cash, and for everyone to have a great night!”

Admission to the event is by cash donation or by donation of a non-perishable food item to the Algoma University Student Food Bank.

The 2014 Homecoming celebrations kick-off on Thursday, October 16th and run until Saturday, October 18th. For more details on the Homecoming line-up, please visit

For more information about Homecoming 2014, please contact Communications Writer and Homecoming Committee member Meaghan Smith at (705) 949-2301, Ext. 4121, or at [email protected]