2014 Tourism SSM Award Winners Announced


Tourism Sault Ste. Marie hosted its 12th annual Tourism Awards last night. At the event, five individuals, organizations and businesses were recognized for their significant contributions to the local tourism sector. Held at the Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Hotel, more than 140 tourism, business and political leaders attended the ceremony.

“The 2014 award winners exemplify what the local and area tourism industry is all about: friendly people who go above and beyond to attract and welcome visitors here from around the world,” said Ian McMillan, Executive Director of Tourism Sault Ste. Marie, a division of the Economic Development Corporation. “This year’s winners, along with the tourism industry in general, deserve to be recognized for their efforts.”

This year’s award winners are:
Award of Excellence

Tourism Award of Excellence: This award is for an individual who has significantly impacted the development of tourism in Sault Ste. Marie. He or she has provided long-standing and exceptional service; has demonstrated an entrepreneurial spirit, leadership and integrity; as well has established a strong legacy through passing on their experience to others to further benefit the tourism sector. This individual has gained respect of those in the tourism industry.
· 2014 Recipient: Kathryn Fisher (Curator, Ermatinger-Clergue National Historic Site)


Business of the YearBusiness of the Year: This for-profit business in the private sector has demonstrated leadership by investing equally in both staff and customers through staff training or special programs and through value-added undertakings for the customer. The presence of this business leads to the provision of a better total tourism product in Sault Ste. Marie.
· 2014 Recipient: Mill Market


Customer Service Award(1)Customer Service Award:  This award is intended to recognize an individual employed in the tourism industry who has contributed to the betterment of the tourism experience for visitors. He or she exhibits a courteous, friendly manner; is customer service oriented and regularly goes beyond the expected duties and performances of their job responsibilities

·         2014 Recipient: Rod Duhaime (Comfort Suites)     
·         2014 Finalists: Christine Beland (Comfort Inn) and John Dedes (Entomica)
Tourism Ambassador AwardTourism Ambassador Award:  This award is designed to recognize an individual or group who, while functioning as a volunteer(s), has made a significant contribution towards strengthening our local tourism economy, helping to achieve impressive results. This individual or group has undertaken their work in the capacity of a volunteer and not as part of their regular paid employment.
·         2014 Recipient: Sault Major Hockey Association
Student Hospitality Award
Tourism Sault Ste. Marie Student Hospitality Award:  This award is designed to recognize a second-year Sault College Student in the Hospitality Management Hotel and Resort Program. This award will be selected by the faculty of Sault College based on academic performance in the first year and the cooperative education work term. In addition, the recipient must have demonstrated a positive contribution to the program and the hospitality industry.
·         2014 Recipient: Carissa Melvin