Jr. Provincial Championships Kick off at Soo Curlers January 3


Eight junior mens and eight junior womens teams, aged 21 and under, from across Northern Ontario will compete in this event. The top team of each gender will represent Northern Ontario at the 2015 M & M Canadian Junior Curling Championships being held in Corner Brook, Newfoundland on January 24 – February 1.

Two teams will represent Soo Curlers. Team Glibota will compete in the Junior Men’s division. Team members include Skip Chris Glibota (949-4237), Vice Cody Tetreault, Second Kyle Sherlock, Lead Josh Vanderburg, Fifth Nick Servant, and Coach Carl Punkari.

Team Rutledge will compete in the Junior Women’s division. Team members include Skip Katie Rutledge (942-7954), Vice Shae-lynn Dupuis, Second Hayley Horton, Lead Emma McLean, Fifth Julia Horton, and Coach Kevin Rutledge.

Several other local curlers will play with teams from out of town. Leah Hodgson and Laura Masters are members of defending champions, Team Burns, from the Idylwylde Curling Club in Sudbury, and Brendan Acorn, Mitch Harris and Spencer Clark will represent the Sudbury Curling Club.

Brad Jacobs will throw the ceremonial first rock during the opening ceremonies scheduled for 1:45 at Saturday January 3rd at Soo Curlers.