Algoma University Honours Student-Athletes at Awards Banquet

On Saturday evening, Algoma University and the Algoma University Thunderbirds Varsity Athletics Program recognized the hard work, dedication, skill, and academic achievements of their student-athletes at their annual Varsity Athletics Banquet. Held at the Grand Gardens North, this year’s banquet celebrated the Thunderbirds’ second season in Ontario University Athletics (OUA), and the recent completion of the George Leach Centre’s (GLC) renovation.
Natasha Doroodian and Sean Clendinning Earn Athlete of the Year Honours

At the opening of the awards ceremony, Team Jacobs was inducted into the Thunderbirds Wall of Fame in the Builders category. Skip Brad Jacobs was a member of the Algoma Thunderbirds Men’s OCAA Curling team, which brought home the first-ever OCAA medal for Algoma U in 2004. The team earned a gold medal after a perfect 6-0 performance in the round robin. Since then, Team Jacobs, comprised of Jacobs, E. J. Harnden, Ryan Harnden, and Ryan Fry, have gone on to win the Canadian championship, the Brier, and become Olympic champions at the 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi, Russia. The team is committed to the continued success of student-athletes at Algoma U, and this year created a bursary for aspiring student-athletes.

Student-Athlete of the Year honours went to women’s wrestler Natasha Doroodian (Korah Collegiate, Sault Ste. Marie), who was the first Thunderbird to earn a Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) Championships medal, earning silver in Edmonton, Alberta in February of 2015. Doroodian won the honour in the 2013-14 season also. For the men, Sean Clendinning (Twin Lakes Secondary, Orillia) won the top honour. Clendinning is a second-year guard on the men’s basketball team who averaged 7.9 points and 1.9 rebounds per game this season. Clendinning is a great leader, role model, and example for the Thunderbirds program. Sam Medaglia, the women’s soccer Head Coach, earned the title of Coach of the Year.
The following awards were also handed out:
Dr. Lukenda Thunderbird Service Award
Daniel Scarpino (Cross-Country Running & Men’s Soccer)
Academic Achievement Awards (highest academic achievement for their sport)
Natasha Doroodian (Women’s Wrestling)
Natasha Doroodian (Women’s Soccer)
Samy Mohamed (Men’s Basketball)
Taylor McAllister (Women’s Basketball)
Taregh Zadmard (Men’s Soccer)
Michael Cassagrande (Men’s Wrestling)
Laura Thibodeau (Nordic Skiing)
Daniel Scarpino (Cross-Country Running)
Leah Hodgson (Women’s Curling)
Andrew Vanderburg (Men’s Curling)
Men’s Basketball
Adam Benrabah – Rookie of the Year
Brett Zufelt – Best Defensive Player
Andre Barber – Most Improved
Jamal Mucket-Sobers – Coaches Award
Sean Clendinning – MVP
Women’s Basketball
Alyssa Dovigi – Most Improved
Taylor McAllister – Coaches Award
Laura Meadows – MVP
Cross-Country Running
Most Improved – Danielle Dupuis
Coaches Award – Brittany Noonan
Anna Stilin – MVP
Daniel Scarpino – MVP
Men’s Curling
Andrew Vanderburg – Rookie of the Year
Eric Greaves – Most Improved
Brandon Neill – Coaches Award
Josh Porco – MVP
Women’s Curling
Taylor Byron – Most Improved
Shae-Lynn Dupuis – Coaches Award
Leah Hodgson – MVP
Nordic Skiing
Laura Thibodeau – MVP
Coaches Award – Alex Lake
Men’s Soccer
Caleb Charlebois – Rookie of the Year
Nick Palazzi – Best Defensive Player
Dan McCulloch – Most Improved
Daniel Scarpino – Coaches Award
Nick Palazzi – MVP
Women’s Soccer
Brooklyn Seatter – Rookie of the Year
Lauren Moore – Best Defensive Player
Taylor Bellini – Most Improved
Cheristy Akiwenzie – Coaches Award
Kristina Richer – MVP
Men’s Wrestling
Brody Evans – Rookie of the Year
Ammar Bin Dhaban – Coaches Award
Steven Kymes – MVP
Women’s Wrestling
Lauren Towell – Coaches Award
Natasha Doroodian – MVP
Thunderbird Award (to graduating student-athletes)
Josh Porco (Men’s Curling 2013 – 2015)
Jesse Chiang (Men’s Curling 2012 – 2015)
Eric Greaves (Men’s Curling 2014 – 2015)
Tyrus Mwangi (Men’s Basketball 2012 – 2013, 2014 – 2015)
Taylor McAllister (Women’s Basketball 2011 – 2015)
Jamal Mucket-Sobers (Men’s Basketball 2010 – 2015)
Chelsie Pine (Women’s Soccer 2013 – 2015)