Nomination Process Now Open for SAH Awards

Sault Area Hospital

March 13, 2015 – The Sault Area Hospital (SAH) Board of Directors is pleased to announce that the nomination process for the annual iCcare and Dr. William Hutchinson awards is now open. Members of the public may nominate a deserving individual for any or all of these awards. Members of the SAH Board of Directors are neither eligible to receive either award nor to nominate a potential recipient.

The iCcare Awards were established by the SAH Board of Directors in 2009 and recognize a hospital employee, volunteer and physician who regularly demonstrates all of the values of the organization: Integrity, Compassion, Collaboration &, Partnership, Accountability, Respect and Excellence.

The Dr. William Hutchinson Award, named after an esteemed surgeon, was established in 1982 by the Algoma District Health Council and recognizes distinguished and exemplary contributions to health care service in Sault Ste. Marie and the District of Algoma. This award is administered by the SAH Board of Directors. The recipient(s) of this award may be any resident(s) of the Algoma District.

All award winners (or recipients) are selected by the Governance Committee of the SAH Board and the recipients will be announced at the Annual General Meeting on June 22, 2015. Permanent commemorative plaques listing the recipients for both the iCcare and Dr. Hutchinson awards are proudly displayed in the main lobby.

The deadline for submissions is 4:00 pm, Friday, April 10, 2015 and all nominators and award recipients will be notified after the May 2015 Board meeting. An online nomination form and more details are available on SAH’s website at More information is also available by calling (705) 759-3434, ext. 6921.

To find out more about Sault Area Hospital, please visit: