Hounds trim roster

Soo Greyhounds

The Soo Greyhounds closed out Training Camp 2015 Friday night with the team’s Annual Luke Williams Memorial Red & White game.
Team White defeated Team Red 5-2.

Following the game, General Manager Kyle Raftis, Head Coach Drew Bannister and their accompanying staff reduced the team’s active roster down to 25 players.

Presently remaining with the club are:

GOALIES (2) – Brandon Halverson, Joseph Raaymakers

DEFENCEMAN (9) – Tyler Hore, Colton White, Gustav Bouramman, Tyler Ganly, Medric Mercier, Mac Hollowell, Anthony DeMeo, Theo Calvas, Conor Timmins

FORWARDS (12) – Blake Speers, Makar Tokarev, Tim Gettinger, Boris Katchouk, Jack Kopacka, Gabe Guertler, Keigan Goetz, Zach Senyshyn, Michael Bunting, Hayden Verbeek, Liam Hawel, Morgan Frost

Fifteen (15) players were subsequently released from the club, or re-assigned to various programs following the game. Those players are: Dougie Hewhouse, Nicolas Mainella, Ryan Da Silva, Brady Cranwell, Alex Daigle, Brenden MacLaren, John Warren, Marshal Nikitin, Hayden Broomhead, David Eccles, Kyle Walker, Lucas Thorne, Connor Rosaasen, Calvin Martin and Tyler Wall

Three players (Isaiah Payne, Matt Murray, Zach Taylor) were released, re-assigned following the final scrimmage on Thursday.

The 2015-16 Hounds will now begin preparation for the OHL pre-season which begins on Friday, September 18th when the locals head down Interstate 75 to take on the Saginaw Spirit.
Game time is 7:05 p.m. at the Dow Event Center.

The two teams conclude the pre-season twenty-four hours later (Saturday, September 19th) when Saginaw visits the Soo @ 7:07 p.m.

Tickets for the lone home pre-season games and ALL regular season home games are on-sale at the Essar Centre Box Office, Monday to Friday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Saturday 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.