Nomination Process Opens for SAH iCcare and Dr. William Hutchinson Awards


The Sault Area Hospital (SAH) Board of Directors is pleased to announce that the nomination process for the annual iCcare and Dr. William Hutchinson awards is now open. Members of our community may nominate a qualified individual for any or all of these awards.

The iCcare Awards were established by the SAH Board of Directors in 2011 to recognize a hospital employee, a volunteer and a physician who regularly demonstrates all of the values of the organization: Integrity, Compassion, Collaboration &, Partnership, Accountability, Respect and Excellence. The Board of Directors determines the winners of these awards.

The Dr. William Hutchinson Award, named after an esteemed local surgeon, was established in 1982 by the Algoma District Health Council and recognizes distinguished and exemplary contributions to health care service in Sault Ste. Marie and the District of Algoma. This award is administered by the SAH Board of Directors. The recipient(s) of this award must be any resident(s) of the Algoma District. The Governance Committee of the Board of Directors determines the winner of this award.

The recipients will be announced at the Annual General Meeting on June 20, 2016. Members of the SAH Board of Directors are neither eligible to receive either award nor to nominate a potential recipient. Permanent commemorative plaques listing the recipients for both the iCcare and Dr. Hutchinson awards are proudly displayed in the SAH main lobby.

The deadline for submissions is April 20, 2016. All nominators and award recipients will be notified after the May 2016 SAH Board meeting. An online nomination form and more details are available on SAH’s website at or by calling (705) 759-3434, ext. 6921.