Police Awards expanded

police arrest

Crime Stoppers of Sault Ste. Marie & Algoma District is eager announce the 2016 Peace Officer Awards Luncheon will be taking place Monday, May 16 from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. at the Delta Waterfront Hotel and Conference Centre. Crime Stoppers proudly accepted the opportunity to honor the men and women in uniform who ensure our community’s safety by risking their own each and every day.

In previous years, the luncheon (formerly known as the Police Services Awards) was organized by the Sault’s Chamber of Commerce and honored one individual from each of our city’s police services with an “Officer of the Year Award”. These organizations included:

  •  Anishinabek Police Services
  •  Sault Ste. Marie Police Services
  •  Sault Detachment of the Ontario Provincial Police
  •  Sault Detachment of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police

This year, for the first time in the event’s history, the list of organizations that will be honored at the ceremonies has been expanded to include:

  •  Sault Ste. Marie Canada Border Services Agency
  •  Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry
  •  Algoma Treatment and Remand Centre

As a charitable service program aligned with these organizations, Crime Stoppers acknowledges and truly understands the importance of each local law enforcement agency, and the positive contributions they make to our city.

Excited to recognize these officers at 2016’s ceremonies, Monique Baker, Crime Stoppers Coordinator, will be hosting the event. The awards also welcome Staff Sergeant Michael Maville, the new Detachment Commander for the Sault Ste. Marie Ontario Provincial Police, as key note speaker.

Throughout his career, Mike has gained experience in secondment opportunities with the Sault Ste. Marie Forensic Identification Unit, the Sault Ste. Marie Drug Enforcement Unit, and as the Detachment Commander of the Sudbury Detachment. Crime Stoppers is excited to welcome Mike back to his hometown at 2016’s Peace Officer Awards.

Registration for the luncheon starts at $50.00 per seat, $300.00 per table of 8, and includes a three course plated lunch. Networking is scheduled from 11:30 a.m. to 12:00 noon, with lunch taking place from noon to 1:30 p.m. To reserve seats for the 2016 Peace Officer Awards Luncheon, complete the registration form here. Completed forms can be emailed to [email protected], or submitted via fax to the Crime Stoppers office at (705) 759-7354.

The awards ceremony could not be made possible without the continued support from the local businesses who are pleased to be our Awards Sponsors. Your loyalty and devotion is genuinely appreciated.

  • Sponsoring the Anishinabek Police Services Officer of the Year Award
    Darrell Wood, NORPRO
  • Sponsoring the Sault Ste. Marie Police Services Officer of the Year Award
    Maureen Webb, Station Mall
  • Sponsoring the OPP Officer of the Year Award
    Sharon Reid, Women In Crisis
  • Sponsoring the RCMP Officer of the Year Award
    Anthony Nanne, Northwood Funeral Home
  • Sponsoring the Canada Border Services Agency Officer of the Year Award
    Peter Feifel, Feifel, Broadbent, & Gualazzi
  • Sponsoring the Ministry of Natural Resources & Forestry Officer of the Year Award
    John Koster, Scotiabank
  • Sponsoring the Algoma Treatment & Remand Centre Officer of the Year Award
    Henry Marshall, Practical Shooters of Algoma
  • Crime Stoppers would also like to extend a special thank you to the contributing Luncheon Sponsors for the 2016 Peace Officer Awards:
  • Antoinette Blunt, Ironside Consulting Services Inc.
  • Dr. Carlo Biasucci, Northern Dental Care

The Peace Officer Awards is the only formal recognition program for all area police services and law enforcement agencies. Join Crime Stoppers, our generous sponsors, and most importantly our award recipients on Monday, May 16, 2016 in saluting Sault Ste. Marie’s Peace Officers.

Download and complete the registration form to reserve your seats at the luncheon.

Registration PDF

Download File

Registration Word Document

Download File