Pittsburgh Penguins win Stanley Cup


SAN JOSE, Calif. – The Pittsburgh Penguins are the Stanley Cup champions.

Kris Letang’s goal in the second period was the eventual winner as Pittsburgh topped the San Jose Sharks 3-1 in Game 6 of the best-of-seven series.

Pittsburgh last won the Stanley Cup in 2009.

Brian Dumoulin opened scoring for the Penguins in the first period and Patric Hornqvist added an empty-net goal in the final minute of play. Matt Murray made 18 saves for the win.

Logan Couture replied for San Jose. Martin Jones stopped 24-of-26 shots in net.

It was the Sharks first appearance in a Stanley Cup final.


Comments are closed.