What went down at the Musical Comedy Guild’s Annual Meeting


The Musical Comedy Guild of Sault Ste. Marie held its Annual General Meeting at Quatrro Hotel and Conference Centre on Sunday, February 12. During this meeting, a new Board of Directors was elected. The new board is as follows:

President: Leith Harris

First Vice-President (Communications): Chris Moore

Second Vice-President (Publicity): Beth Aaltonen

Executive Secretary: Calyssa Skeggs

Treasurer: Darla Pirillo

Librarian: Jaime Miller

Business Manager: Thomas Brandstetter

Production Liaison: Andrew Stuetz

Membership Secretary: Nancy Maahs

We would also like to extend a heartfelt thank you to Chris Mozarowski for the last two years she has served as President of the Musical Comedy Guild. We look forward to her continued input and support as she takes her place on the Board as Past President.

Occasionally, the Musical Comedy Guild will honour individuals who have gone above and beyond in their selfless contributions to the Guild with a Lifetime Membership. This year, we are pleased to bestow this honour to two people, Ian Ganton and posthumously to Linda Genetti.

The past fiscal year was quite successful for the Musical Comedy Guild. “Mary Poppins”, a family extravaganza staged in November 2015 that was quite technically challenging, posted an overall profit of $13,500. “Why Do Fools Fall in Love?”, our second foray into dinner theatre, also made a slight profit. Final numbers from our last show, “A Christmas Carol, The Musical” were not reconciled at the time of the AGM.

Planning is currently underway on our spring production, “The Andrews Brothers”, our latest dinner theatre musical at Quattro, with shows running May 17-20. This wonderful show filled with mistaken identities and madcap adventures is directed by Lucas Beaver with musical direction by Rusty McCarthy. Tickets are currently on sale at the box office in the Station Mall, and the cast will be announced in the very near future.