Celebrating the Real You: 2017 Scholarships, Bursaries and Awards Night

Sault College

Yesterday, Sault College celebrated the outstanding academic accomplishments of more than 300 students at the 44th annual Scholarships, Bursaries and Awards (SBA) night. The evening is an opportunity to acknowledge the tremendous success of our students, show our appreciation for the ongoing commitment from our donors, and highlight the strength of Sault College’s Financial Aid program.

Throughout the evening close to $300,000 was distributed to deserving students. “The Scholarships, Bursaries and Awards ceremony is an extremely important event for Sault College and our students,” says Terry Ableson, Financial Aid Administrator and Chair, SBA Committee. “We welcome every opportunity to celebrate our students and their achievements. It also allows us to showcase and honour the community supporters and donors who have helped to shape our SBA program and whose support has been instrumental in assisting many students pursue their educational goals,” she adds.

Benjamin Facciol, an Aviation Technology – Flight student, was awarded the Governor General’s Academic Medal – the top award of the SBA program. Since 1873, Governor Generals of Canada have sponsored this medal to encourage and recognize excellent academics at various levels of the educational system. It is awarded to the student graduating from the previous year’s three-year program who has achieved the highest academic standing in the College in the final year of his/her program.

During the 2016/17 academic year, more than $1.65 million will be distributed to more than 1,700 students through the SBA program.

Each year, the generosity of donors who support Sault College students continues to grow. This year, several new awards have been established, each offering significant benefits to students. These include: 35th Year Anniversary Award, Aktion Club of Lakeshore CICE Award, Franca Bernardo Memorial Award, Julie Christenson Memorial Award, Excellence in User Experience Award, International Student Citizenship Award, Kiwanis Club of Lakeshore CICE Award, Aino Tukeri Laaksonen Memorial Award, The Captain Nicholas Little Memorial Scholarship, Masonic Foundation of Ontario Award, The Rose Nolan Scholarship, Miyah Odber Memorial Award, and Shelby Pepin Memorial Award.

Sault College would like to extend a sincere thank you to all of the individual and corporate donors for believing in our College and in our students. This support positively impacts our students and encourages them to continue to strive for excellence.

Congratulations to all of the award recipients!