Minority government confirmed in B.C.


VICTORIA – British Columbia entered a new stage of political uncertainty today as the final vote count from the May 9 election confirmed the province’s first minority government in 65 years.

The Liberals finished one-seat short of a majority, with 43 seats in the 87-seat legislature.

The NDP has 41 seats and the Greens hold the balance of power with three seats.

The focus during the final count was on the riding of Courtenay-Comox, which the NDP won by 189 votes after holding a slim 13-vote lead on election night.

Exploratory talks involving possible political collaborations with the Greens have been underway since the election, but the parties have said they were awaiting the final results to begin the talks in earnest.

Premier Christy Clark says with a plurality of seats in the legislature, the Liberals have a responsibility to form a government.

Today’s final count includes almost 180,000 absentee ballots that were counted by Elections BC since Monday.