SSMEDC thanks retiring Board members and introduces the new Board


Earlier this month, during the annual general meeting of the Sault Ste. Marie Economic Development Corporation, three members of the Board of Directors retired from their positions. With their volunteer terms ending, the organization thanks Brian Robertson, Dr. Christiane Husemann and John Martella for their years of service in support of the community.

“We send our sincere appreciation to Brian, Christiane and John for being champions in driving economic development and growth in our city,” said Robert Reid, President and Board Chair of the Sault Ste. Marie Economic Development Corporation. “Their leadership and direction helped guide our organization. On behalf of the Board of Directors, I thank them for their service and wish them the best in their future endeavours.”

The Sault Ste. Marie Economic Development Corporation is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors made up of business owners and executives from the private, public and non-profit sectors. Following the annual general meeting this month, the Board now consists of:

Robert Reid (President)
Owner of N-Sci Technologies Inc., an energy consulting and engineering firm

Don Mitchell (Past-President)
Vice-President of Commercial Lines/Partner at Algoma Insurance Group

Terry Rainone (First Vice-President)
President of Palmer Construction Group and McRain Developments

Paul Skeggs (Second Vice-President)
Barrister & Solicitor at Skeggs Paciocco Lawyers LLP

Donna Hilsinger (Secretary)
Tourism and Hospitality Industry Veteran

Lori Naccarato (Treasurer)
Senior Account Manager at Business Development Bank of Canada

Bill Freiburger
Commissioner of Finance (retired) at the City of Sault Ste. Marie

Geoff Meakin
President and co-owner of Meakin Contracting

Frank O’Connor
Co-owner and operator of The Voyageurs’ Lodge & Cookhouse

Pramod Shukla
Chief Operating Officer at Algoma

Kevin Wyer (Chair of Tourism Sault Ste. Marie)
General Manager of the Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Hotel

Sandra Hollingsworth
Ward 2 City Councillor

Christian Provenzano (Ex-Officio)
Mayor of Sault Ste. Marie

The Board of Directors is supported by a Liaison Committee consisting of:

  • Dr. Ron Common: President of Sault College;
  • Dr. Celia Ross: Acting President and Vice-Chancellor of Algoma University;
  • Rory Ring: CEO of the Sault Ste. Marie Chamber of Commerce; and
  • Dan Friyia: Executive Director of the Community Development Corporation of Sault Ste. Marie & Area.

The Sault Ste. Marie Economic Development Corporation is also served by a number of Advisory and Standing Committees made of up community leaders and professionals. Board and Committee members dedicate thousands of volunteer hours annually to the governance, planning and administration of the organization. To learn more, visit