Successes and Challenges Ahead focus of SAH General Meeting


Sault Area Hospital (SAH) held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) on June 19, 2017. The AGM focused on the many successes over the last year, as well as the challenges faced and expectations for the future. The meeting also featured guest speaker, Jane Bishop, Leading Edge Group, who delivered a compelling presentation on Lean methodology.
For 2017/2018, Reg St-Amour will serve as Chair, Greg Peres will serve as 1st Vice Chair and Debbie Romani will serve as 2nd Vice Chair. CEO Ron Gagnon will remain Secretary to the Board in an ex-officio capacity. Four members were reappointed for three-year terms – Greg Peres, Reg St-Amour, Debbie Romani, Sharon Kirkpatrick. Thank you to our outgoing Board members, Frank Sarlo and Jim Boniferro, for their dedicated years of service.

The AGM was highlighted by the annual presentation of the SAH iCcare Awards, established by the SAH Board in 2011. These awards acknowledge an employee, volunteer and physician who consistently demonstrate the values of SAH – Integrity, Compassion, Collaboration and Partnership, Accountability, Respect and Excellence. The 2017 recipients were John Nardo (employee), Tracy Dinelle posthumously (volunteer) and Dr. Michael Bodnar (physician).

The meeting concluded with the much-anticipated presentation of the prestigious Dr. William Hutchinson Award. Presented annually by the SAH Board of Directors, this award recognizes distinguished contributions to health care in Sault Ste. Marie and Algoma. The 2017 recipient was Dr. Douglas Bignell.

SAH congratulates all award recipients for their dedicated service to the residents of Sault Ste. Marie and the Algoma region.

The 2016/2017 SAH Annual Report is available online at