Long time Algoma District School Board Trustee and Chair wins prestigious award


The Algoma District School Board (ADSB) is proud to announce that former ADSB Trustee and Chair Wanda McQueen has been chosen by the Ontario Public School Board Association (OPSBA) as the 2017 recipient of the Bernardine Yackman Memorial Award.  The Bernardine Yackman Memorial Award is awarded annually to an active or retired trustee of a member board of the Association for his or her outstanding contribution to education, with special recognition for Northern Ontario service.

Wanda was nominated for this prestigious award by ADSB Trustee Bob McEachren and was honoured at a luncheon on Saturday, October 14, 2017.  The award ceremony was part of the Northern Regional Meeting held at the Delta Hotel over the weekend.

Wanda served with the ADSB for an unprecedented 26 years consecutively, elected first as a Trustee for what was then the Sault Ste Marie Board of Education in November 1988.  She was Vice-Chair for two years and in 2002 was chosen as Chair of the Algoma District School Board, a position she held for 10 years.  In her time as Trustee, Vice Chair and Chair, Wanda served on numerous committees including Teacher Trustee Relations, Auditory Advisory, and Transportation and was the liaison with the School Council Coordinating Committee.  Wanda was also a member of ADSB’s Finance and Operations Committee and the External Audit Committee. She was an elected member of the policy and education committee with OPSBA for Northeastern Ontario.  She acted as Alternate Board Director for OPSBA and Co-chaired the Annual General Meeting for OPSBA when it was previously held in Sault Ste. Marie.

Wanda was acknowledged for her 26 year commitment to the Board.  In all of her roles with the Board, Wanda was a strong advocate for students, always working towards and making decisions based on giving students every opportunity to obtain the education they needed to become independent learners.  Wanda has also provided 25 years of service in the Health Care sector in Sault Ste Marie, advocating for seniors.

Algoma District School Board Chair Jennifer Sarlo shared this. “On behalf of the ADSB I want to extend our sincere congratulations to Wanda on receiving this prestigious award. Her long time service to our board and to public education locally and provincially is to be commended. As a leader in our board who always strove to put the needs of students at the forefront of all our decisions, Wanda served as a mentor and great example to trustees around our role and responsibility at the board table.”

Laurie French, President of OPSBA shared through a congratulatory letter, “On behalf of OPSBA members, I thank you for your longstanding contribution to our students and congratulate you on being the 2017 recipient of this award.”