A look at some of the new recipients of the Order of Canada


OTTAWA — Gov. Gen. Julie Payette announced 125 new appointments to the Order of Canada Friday.

The honour was created in 1967 to recognize outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation.

Here are some of the newest recipients.


Thomas Cromwell — former Supreme Court justice.

Louis LeBel — former Supreme Court justice.

Cornelia Oberlander — landscape architect.


Sally Armstrong  — journalist and filmmaker.

Francois Crepeau — law professor and former United Nations Special Rapporteur on the Human Rights of Migrants.ertainmentRobert Joseph — former executive director of the Indian Residential School Survivors Society and an honourary witness to Canada’s Truth and Reconciliation Commission.

Kenneth Lum — Chinese-Canadian artist and educator.

Lee Maracle — Indigenous author, scholar and professor.

Terence Hedley Matthews — high-tech entrepreneur, best known for founding telecom company Mitel.

William Shatner — best known for his role as Captain Kirk on Star Trek.

Denis Villeneuve — Academy-award nominated Quebec filmmaker.


Jann Arden — singer-songwriter.

Mark Breslin — comedian and co-founder of the Yuk Yuk’s chain of comedy clubs.

Andree Champagne — former Progressive Conservative member of Parliament from Quebec and later Conservative senator.

Richard Dicerni — former federal and Ontario deputy minister, and Clerk to Alberta premiers Jim Prentice and Rachel Notley.

Stephanie Dixon — swimmer and winner of numerous Paralympic medals.

Jocelyn Downie — professor with a focus on end-of-life law and policy.

Red Fisher — sports journalist known for his coverage of the Montreal Canadiens.

Curtis Harnett — Olympic cyclist.

Judy Illes — researcher in the field of neuroethics.

Bruce Kirby — sailboat designer behind the popular Laser class sailboat.

Karen Rochelle Mock — former executive director of the Canadian Race Relations Foundation.

Ahmet Fuad Sahin — Muslim community leader and founding member of the International Development and Relief Foundation.

Beverley Noel Salmon — Toronto’s first black female city councillor.

Frederick Sasakamoose — first Indigenous player in the NHL.

Bernard Sherman — founder of pharmaceutical powerhouse Apotex.

For more on these and other inductees, visit: www.gg.ca/honours.

The Canadian Press