Sault Ste. Marie hosting 2018 Startup Canada Awards


The Sault Ste. Marie Economic Development Corporation, in partnership with StartUP Sault, is hosting the 2018 Startup Canada Awards – Ontario Region on June 21. The event, which launched in 2014, is the hallmark forum celebrating outstanding achievement in the country’s entrepreneurship and innovation sectors.

“Startup Canada is proud to partner with the Sault Ste. Marie Economic Development Corporation and StartUP Sault to celebrate the incredible entrepreneurs and innovators of Ontario who are growing our economy and building entrepreneurial culture and success in Canada,” said Cyprian Szalankiewicz, Co-Founder of Startup Canada.

Every year, the Startup Canada Awards attract more than 500 nominations from across the country. Nominees are celebrated at regional grassroots startup events and at the national Grand Finale in Ottawa. The forum is now in its fifth year. Learn more at

“We’re excited to team up with StartUP Sault to bring this event to our community,” said Dan Hollingsworth, Executive Director of Business Development for the Sault Ste. Marie Economic Development Corporation. “Our team is thrilled to be bringing Ontario’s best and brightest entrepreneurs to our city to celebrate their achievements.”

These comments were echoed by Nevin Buconjic, Founder and Community Lead for StartUP Sault. “This event is a perfect way to celebrate StartUP Sault’s four years of building a supportive ecosystem for entrepreneurs and startups in Sault Ste. Marie,” he said. “I look forward to hosting Ontario’s best and celebrating entrepreneurship and innovation in our own community.”

Nominations for the 2018 Startup Canada Awards are open until April 3. Individuals, businesses and organizations are invited to nominate and apply for awards such as the Startup Canada Indigenous Entrepreneur Award, Startup Canada Innovation Award and the Startup Canada High-Growth Award, among others. The complete list of awards and criteria can be found at

Past Startup Canada Award winners include:

·         Anne Whelan, President & CEO of Seafair Capital Inc.;
·         The Right Honourable David Johnston, former Governor General of Canada;
·         The Hadhad Family, founders of Peace by Chocolate;
·         Nicole Verkindt, founder of Offset Market Exchange; and
·         Shawn Smith, founder of Don’t Dis-my-ability Consultation Services Inc.

To nominate or learn more, visit For inquiries, email [email protected].