Bannister Named CHL Coach of the Year


After guiding the Soo Greyhounds to their best regular season in franchise history, head coach Drew Bannister is now being recognized across the nation.

It was announced on Saturday that Soo Greyhounds head coach Drew Bannister was named the recipient of this year’s Janes Brian Kilrea CHL Coach of the Year Award.

In his third season as head coach of the Soo Greyhounds, the 44 year old guided the club to a franchise best 55 win and 116 point season.

During the 2017-2018 regular season, the Hounds also set new team records, including longest winning streak (23 straight wins), longest regulation unbeaten streak (29 straight games) and tied the OHL record for least regulation time losses (7).

The Hounds, who finished first overall in the Canadian Hockey League this year, also captured their first Hamilton Spectator Trophy since 2015 as the Ontario Hockey League’s regular season champions.

The Soo was also the highest scoring team during the regular season with 317 goals and gave up the least goals against (186).

Bannister becomes the second Soo Greyhounds head coach to win the Janes Brian Kilrea CHL Coach of the Year Award, joining Sheldon Keefe (2015).


  1. Yes well deserved!!! The Hounds got screwed by BAD refereeing during the play-offs and especially in the finals against Hamilton!! The team should have been going to the Memorial Cup, you got your wish, Mr. Asshole Branch!!!! Time to retire, you are garbage!!!

Comments are closed.