Sydney Resch to Play in OUA All-Star Game


(SAULT STE. MARIE, ON: May 2, 2018): For the first time since joining the OUA in 2013, an Algoma Thunderbird will play in the OUA All-Star basketball game. Veteran player, Sydney Resch, will suit up one last time in her OUA career to play in the coveted game, happening on Saturday, May 5 at 2:00pm in The Pac in Waterloo, Ontario.

“I think it’s great Sydney is able to represent us at the OUA All-star game,” said Head Coach Ryan Vetrie. “She has definitely been an all-star for our team this year. I’m happy she has the opportunity in her final year to play amongst some of the best in the league.”

From Guelph, Ontario, Resch will graduate this year from Algoma University’s Bachelor of Business Administration program. She joined the Thunderbirds in 2013, and helped the team make the big jump from college-level play to U Sports in her five years of eligibility.

This past season, Resch was named MVP of the Algoma squad. She earned 171 points in the season, for a career total of 778, and averaged 33 per cent from the field.
“I’m really grateful to be representing Algoma University at this game. It’s great to get to show up and play for Algoma in a game like this is a real privilege. And being able to play one more game in my career makes it that much more special,” said Resch.

Resch will play for McMaster Marauder’s bench boss, Theresa Burns. Five other fifth-year players will join Burns’ line-up, including Sofia Paska (Ryerson Rams), Lindsay Shotbolt (York Lions), Nicole Morrison (Laurier Golden Hawks), and Jerika Baldin (Lakehead Thunderwolves).

The other squad will be coached by reigning OUA Coach of the Year Taffe Charles, Head Coach of the Carleton Ravens.

A total of 18 players representing 15 schools will play in the 11th edition of the OUA All-Star game.

A full list of players follows.Team Theresa Burns

Jerika Baldin (Lakehead University)
Emily Tinnes (Laurentian University)
Tyra Morrison (Wilfrid Laurier University)
Sofia Pasaka (Ryerson University)
Sarah Gates (McMaster University)
Sydney Resch (Algoma University)
Lindsay Shotbolt (York University)
Burke Bechard (University of Guelph)
Team Taffe Charles

Sydney Wilson (University of Waterloo)
Kristin Gallant (Brock University)
Brooklyn McAlear-Fanus (University of Ottawa)
Linnaea Harper (McMaster University)
Keyira Parkes (University of Toronto)
Veronica Lavergne (Queen’s University)
Alexandra Trivieri (Carleton University)
Jama Bin-Edward (Ryerson University)
Chante Clarke (York University)