Brick to guide Team NOHA


He’s only been in the NOJHL for four years, but you can now add another thing to his resume!

Blind River Beavers head coach and general manager Kyle Brick has been named head coach for Team NOHA for the 2018-2019 season.

Brick, who served as an assistant coach with the Soo Thunderbirds from 2014-2016, helped the club win back to back Copeland Cup McNamara Trophies along with a Dudley Hewitt Cup title in 2015.

Following two championship seasons with the Thunderbirds, Brick was named head coach of the Blind River Beavers for the 2016-2017 season.

In his first season as a head coach in the NOJHL, Brick helped the Beavers to a 32 win season, before guiding them to the league final for the first time in franchise history.

Their 32 wins during the 2016-2017 regular season, set a new franchise record for most wins in a regular season, breaking their previous record from 2009-2010, when they won 29.

Brick and the Beavers were not done there though!

In the 2017-2018 season, Brick then helped the Beavers to a franchise best 33 win regular season, breaking their previous record from 2016-2017.

In 2017, Brick was the recipient of the Mirl “Red” McCarthy Memorial Trophy for the NOJHL’s Coach of the Year.

Brick became just the second coach in Beavers history to be named the NOJHL Coach of the Year, joining Todd Stencill (2007).

Brick also served as head coach for Team NOJHL at the 2017 Eastern Canada Cup All-Star Challenge in Trenton last November.

Back in the 2014-2015 season, the Beavers set the NOJHL record for the worst record in a regular season with 0 wins, 51 losses and 1 overtime loss.

The Beavers then only won 10 times during the 2015-2016 season.

But since Kyle Brick took over for them behind the bench in 2016-2017, the club has had back to back 30 plus win seasons.

Brick and Team NOHA will compete at many events during the 2018-2019 season, including the 2018 OMHA Eastern AAA Showcase, the 2019 OHL Cup and the 2019 OHL Gold Cup.

This year’s Team NOHA will have 2003 birth year players that are eligible for next April’s OHL Priority Selection.


Comments are closed.