School Boards Approve School Year Calendar for 2019-2020


The Algoma District School Board (ADSB), Conseil scolaire catholique du Nouvel-Ontario (CSCNO), Conseil scolaire public du Grand Nord de l’Ontario (CSPGNO) and HuronSuperior Catholic District School Board (HSCDSB) have approved the School Year Calendar for 2019-2020.

The four school boards have worked together to produce a common calendar, facilitating the co-ordination of services such as student transportation. Each board adopted the calendar, consisting of a 194 day school year, following its own consultation process. Their respective calendars will be submitted to the Ministry of Education for final approval.

The 2019-2020 School Year Calendar will be the same for all English and Frenchlanguage schools and all public and Catholic school boards in the Algoma and Sudbury Districts including Blind River, Chapleau, Dubreuilville, Elliot Lake, Espanola, Hornepayne, Manitoulin Island, Massey, the North Shore, Sault Ste. Marie, Spanish, Wawa and White River. Except for minor changes, the calendar will also apply to CSCNO and CSPGNO schools in Greater Sudbury, Espanola and Sudbury East.

Overview of the 2019-2020 School Year Elementary and Secondary Schools

  • ADSB, CSCNO, CSPGNO and HSCDSB staff and students begin classes on Wednesday, September 4, 2019.
  • The Christmas holiday schedule is set from December 23, 2019 to January 3, 2020 inclusive.
  • March Break is scheduled from Monday, March 16 to Friday March 20, 2020.  The last day of classes for staff and students is June 26, 2020.

Professional Activity Days:

1. September 3, 2019
2. September 27, 2019
3. October 21, 2019
4. November 22, 2019
5. January 31, 2020
6. April 24, 2020
7. June 12, 2020

The complete School Year Calendar for 2019-2020 is available on school board websites: