Annual Athletics Banquet Honours Thunderbirds


Algoma University and the Algoma University Thunderbirds Varsity Athletics Program recognized the hard work, dedication, skill, and academic achievements of their student-athletes at their annual varsity Athletics Banquet.

Riley Tubaro, a second-year member of the Algoma Wrestling program from Tecumseh Ontario, was awarded the distinguished honour of Female Student-Athlete of the Year. This past season, she represented Algoma U at the 2019 OUA Championships, bringing home a silver medal, and in February she finished fifth at the U Sports National Championship held in Calgary, Alberta. Tubaro competed in the women’s 51-kilogram weight class and was ranked in the top six in the country for the entire year.

On the men’s side, Nathan Riley earned the prestigious title of Male Student-Athlete of the Year. From Kitchener, Ontario, Riley had his best performance this season in the past four years of playing for the Thunderbirds men’s basketball team. His achievements this year included: First Defensive Rebounds, Fourth in Total Rebounds, Second in Steals, Seventh in Blocks, Sixteenth in Points per Game; all in the OUA.  He was also ninth in Total Rebounds and fourth in Total Steals Nationally. He was also awarded OUA Athlete of the Week this past January and was featured in the OUA Plays of the Week.

The 2006-2007 OCAA Silver Medalist Women’s Basketball Team was inducted into the Thunderbird Wall of Fame in the athlete category. Kristy Aloe, Miranda Chaimbrone, Kristen Conway, Danielle D’Ettorre, Abby DiDonato, Alicia Miller, Jennifer Arbour (Muio), Jessica King, Megan Turcotte (Petingalo), Lara Stilin, and Melissa Turgeon (Stumpo) studied at Algoma University in competed in OCAA competition. The team championed by Head Coach Ed Green and Assistant Coaches Ken Hamilton and Robbie Green earned the title of West Region Champions and a trip to the Provincial playoffs where they defeated the Humber Hawks 50-47 in the Quar terfinals and the Algonquin Thunder 69-66 in the semi-final. The team was up against the Seneca Sting in the OCAA finals and lost 75 to 56 but earned the first OCAA Provincial Silver Medal for Algoma University. Danielle D’Ettorre was named OCAA and CCAA Women’s Basketball Player of the Year as well as CCAA All Canadian. She also won OCAA west regional and league scoring title (26 ppg an OCAA record which still stands today). Danielle and Lara Stilin are named OCAA West Region First Team All-Stars for Women’s Basketball.

The following awards were also handed out:


OUA All-Academic and U SPORTS Academic All Canadian Awards for the 2017-2018
Anik Graves – Women’s Curling and Nordic Skiing

Natasha Doroodian – Women’s Wrestling

Marissa Ditoro – Cross Country Running and Nordic Skiing

Karina Cole – Women’s Basketball

Rebecca Wylie – Women’s Basketball

Makenna Wiebe – Women’s Soccer

Rafael Valentini – Men’s Soccer

Riley Tubaro – Women’s Wrestling and Women’s Soccer

Talyn Tait – Cross Country Running

Julia Simon – Women’s curling

Stephen Kreyenbuhl – Men’s Wrestling

Keiko Larocque – Women’s Curling

Lucia Luciani – Cross Country Running

Kelsey Ochman – Cross Country Running

Skyler Perron – Women’s Wrestling

Noodin Shawanda – Men’s Wrestling
Dr. Lukenda Thunderbird Service Award

Marissa Ditoro


Women’s Basketball

Coach’s Award – Karly Fracalanza

Most Improved – Rebecca Wylie

Best Defensive Player – Darryn Lindquist

Rookie of the Year – Aimee Garland

MVP – Karina Cole & Dionne Martin


Men’s Basketball

Coach’s Award – Nicola Zorcic

Most Improved – Nick Gehlen

Best Defensive Player – Elijah Butler

Rookie of the Year – David Bokanga

MVP – Nathan Riley


Cross-Country Running

Coach’s Award – Marissa Ditoro

Most Improved – Taylor Dewling

Rookie of the Year – Avery Litke

MVP – Lucia Luciani & Nick Keenan


Women’s Curling

Coach’s Award – Julia Simon & Keiko Larocque

Most Improved – Anik Graves

MVP – Erin McLean


Men’s Curling

Coach’s Award – Marc Orlando

Most Improved – Jared Kelly

MVP – HR Mandiv


Nordic Skiing

Coach’s Award – Marissa Ditoro

Most Improved – Rebekah Gwynn

Rookie of the Year – Andrew Arndt


Women’s Soccer

Coach’s Award – Alexis Trigiani-Kirkwood

Most Improved – Bailie Malmloff

Rookie of the Year – Linsay Horton

MVP – Makenna Wiebe


Men’s Soccer

Coach’s Award – Yahaya Alphonse

Most Improved – Yakabu Ishaku

Rookie of the Year – Simon Bobok

MVP – Tanner Wilden


Women’s Wrestling
Coach’s Award – Natasha Doroodian

Most Improved – Skyler Perron

Rookie of the Year – Willow Morton

Most Outstanding Wrestler – Riley Tubaro


Men’s Wrestling

Coach’s Award – Bryce Davis
Most Improved – Miisheen Shawanda
Rookie of the Year – Graham Slater
Most Outstanding Wrestler – Brody Collison


Thunderbird Award (to graduating student-athletes)

Mohammed Alqarni – Men’s Soccer

Elijah Butler – Men`s Basketball

Karina Cole – Women’s Basketball

Natasha Doroodian – Women`s Wrestling

Michael Heptbourne – Men’s Basketball

Keiko Larocque – Women`s Curling

Jermaine Lyle – Men’s Basketball

Erin McLean – Women’s Curling

Marc Orlando – Men’s Curling

Victor Rodriguez – Men`s Soccer

Julia Simon – Women`s Curling

Nikola Zorcic – Men’s Basketball