63rd Annual Rotary Sports Awards Dinner


The 63rd Annual Rotary Sport Awards Dinner will be held on June 11, 2019 at the Marconi Event Centre.

The top male high school athletes in the sports of Badminton, Basketball, Cross Country Running, Curling, Football, Hockey, Soccer, Track and Field, and Wrestling as selected by the coaches will be recognized. Female athletes are recognized at the Tenaris Awards, which will be held on June 12.

The overall top male athlete will be awarded the Walter Lowe Memorial Trophy. The 2018 winner was Nick Keenan from Superior Heights.

The student best combining athletic and scholastic achievements is recognized from each high school, and the top candidate will be awarded the B”Nai B’Rith Trophy. The 2018 winner was Jacob Verslype from Superior Heights. The Ross Winslade Trophy is awarded to the high school accumulating the most points within the city for all boys and girls sports sanctioned by the local athletic associations.

The Russ Ramsey High School Sports Hall of Fame was established by Rotary in 1990 in recognition of Russ Ramsey’s outstanding support of high school athletics. Through this award Rotary honours individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the male and/or female high school athletic programs. Our 2018 inductees were Tony D’Agostino and Randa Coulter.

The HP Broughton Trophy is awarded to the Sault Ste. Marie Sports Person of the Year as selected by a committee of local media covering high school sports and other sports enthusiasts. The 2018 winner was the Soo Greyhounds.

The public is encouraged to attend this event in celebration of our community’s young athletes. The doors open at 5:30, dinner is served at 6:30 and the award presentations begin at 7:30. Tickets are available at the door at a cost of $30.

Public nominations for the HP Broughton Trophy are encouraged. Nomination criteria are available on the Rotary website, www.rotarysault.com/community-projects/sports-awards-dinner/.