Student Trustees for 2020 / 2021 School Year Appointed


The Algoma District School Board (ADSB) approved the appointment of three Student Trustees for the 2020 / 2021 school year: Emily Hewgill from Superior Heights and Evan Tyler from Elliot Lake Secondary Schools as the Student Trustees and Amara Ruffo from Chapleau High School as Indigenous Student Trustee, for the Algoma District School Board, effective August 1, 2020.

Emily Hewgill will be entering her grade 12 year at Superior Heights C.&V.S. For the past three years, she has served on her school’s Student Senate. Emily has also lent her skills to S-Factor – a Superior Heights’ Talent Show and to Hawks Hanger – helping to organize donated clothing for those students in need. This past year, she also coordinated her school’s game during the Bon Soo School Winter Olympics. In addition to her leadership within Superior Heights, Emily has also served on the Youth’s Mayor Advisory Group, as a mentor for the Rebound North Mentor Program, and as a member of a select group of 60 students from around the province on the Minster of Education Student Advisory Council. Emily is described by her Student Senate Teacher-Mentor as, “…a conscientious individual with excellent interpersonal and organizational skills who continues to astound with her tremendous leadership qualities.”

Evan Tyler will be entering his grade 11 year at Elliot Lake Secondary School. He played a key role this past year lending his leadership qualities during the ADSB Student Voice Forum reviewing the results from his school’s Census and School Climate data. Evan is also a member of the ELSS Student Council as well as a member of the Students for Students Club serving as a volunteer who plans and organizes school functions and community events. Evan’s leadership is also utilized within his community; he serves on the Elliot Lake Community Liaison Committee in two roles – he’s a member on the Youth Advisory Council planning events for the youth of Elliot Lake and he serves as a Youth Liaison informing his peers about the Nuclear Waste Management Organization. Evan’s Principal describes him as, “…a mature, hard-working, and responsible young adult…who exemplifies what being an excellent role model and community citizen means.”

Amara Ruffo will be entering grade 12 at Chapleau High School. She comes from Chapleau Cree First Nation and is from the Marten Clan. This past year, Amara served as Vice Chair of the ADSB Northern Indigenous Youth Council (NIYC) and will be the ADSB Indigenous Student Trustee and NIYC Chair for the 2020-2021 school year. She is also involved in the Mushkegowuk Youth Council. Amara is an enthusiastic and hard-working Indigenous leader within her school community. She has lead initiatives in the school community as well as her First Nation community, including leading a hand drumming group; organizing Orange Shirt Day activities, organizing Indigenous arts and crafts sessions for younger students; helping with the schools annual Sobriety Walk and most recently organizing a photo shoot in honour of and to remember Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women. The Principal at her school described Amara as “an exceptional leader, someone most staff and students look up to for bringing knowledge about her culture to our school community.”

Current Student Trustees Isabella DiBerardino, Leah Moggy and Indigenous Student Trustee
Marek McLeod will complete their terms on July 31, 2020.