Writers’ Trust of Canada names five finalists for 2020 nonfiction prize

Canada Books

TORONTO – The Writers’ Trust of Canada has released this year’s five finalists for the Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction.

The finalists are Lorna Crozier, Steven Heighton, Jessica J. Lee, Tessa McWatt and David A. Neel.

The trust says with the discontinuation of the RBC Taylor Prize, along with the postponement of this year’s Governor General’s Literary Awards, the trust’s prize is the only national award recognizing Canadian writers who published literary non-fiction in 2020.

In all, 107 titles were submitted by 65 publishers for contention.

Finalists are given $5,000 with the eventual winner getting $60,000, which the trust says is the richest annual literary award for a book of non-fiction by a Canadian writer.

The winner will be announced on Nov. 18.