Canada supports the Mississauga Nation efforts to advance self-determination and reconciliation

Canadian Parliament

The Mississauga Nation has received $120,000 this year through the Government of Canada’s Nation Rebuilding Program.

The Mississauga Nation consists of six communities – Mississaugas of the New Credit, Mississaugas of Alderville, Mississaugas of Scugog Island, Mississauga First Nation, Curve Lake First Nation, and Hiawatha First Nation.

The Nation Rebuilding Program aims to foster a nation-to-nation, Inuit-Crown and government-to-government relations with Indigenous people across Canada.

One of the objectives is increasing First Nations’ ability to take on more sectoral responsibility – with the ultimate objective being self-governance.

Activities that would be supported by the Nation Rebuilding Program include community engagement and consultation, gatherings aimed at developing culturally appropriate governance structures and institutions, constitution development, and other initiatives that foster nationhood.

Since 2018, Mississauga Nation has received $768,900 through the program.

“Nation-building on a collective level is an immense exercise and is subject to a multi-year iterative process by our citizens,” said the Chiefs of The Mississauga Nation in a joint statement. “Rather than face cultural reclamation alone, and by working as one, as a Nation, our respective communities will emerge stronger and become more unified in our vision through our collective strength of governance. We are excited at the renewal of the Mississauga Nation, and the prospect of working together on issues of collective importance to our communities.”